Posted by: hepowers | November 9, 2009

Delicious Corporate Social Responsibility

Today I am combining school projects.  This blog is a requirement of the social media course in my public relations management program.  At least twice a week, my classmates and I need to create a new blog post.  My instructor, Martin Waxman, has also assigned a bookmarking project where we are required to choose a theme, create an account on Delicious.com and find at least ten sites or articles or blogs which fit the chosen theme.

Although initially confused about the value of a social bookmarking site (and by the name Delicious), today I realized it can greatly reduce my research time when searching for blog post topics.  Like my blog, my bookmarking theme is corporate social responsibility.  By searching CSR, Delicious gave me two sets of results: the CSR sites already in my account and 24,000 more sites bookmarked by other Delicious users.  Egads, that would take awhile to go through.

In case you are also interested in CSR, here are a few bookmarked sites from Delicious that look promising:

Global Reporting Initiative has a mission “to create conditions for the transparent and reliable exchange of sustainability information through the development and continuous improvement of the GRI Sustainability Reporting Framework.”

United Nations Global Impact “is a strategic policy initiative for businesses that are committed to aligning their operations and strategies with ten universally accepted principles in the areas of human rights, labour, environment and anti-corruption.”

Net Impact “is a global network of leaders who are changing the world through business.”

B Corporation This group of businesses sounds determined to be different.  They are dedicated to “creating a new sector of the economy which is purpose-driven and creates benefits for all stakeholders, not just shareholders.”

Boston College for Corporate Citizenship is a site with an abundance of resources and information.

There are probably many more uses of Delicious which I will figure out in time.  Meanwhile, I need to write two or three lines for each bookmarked site and add tags before I hand that project in.  As far as assignments go, this one was pretty easy.  And interesting.  But delicious?  I still do not get that part.

On the right hand side of this page, you can check out my Delicious bookmarks so far, soon to be supplemented with those listed above.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the Social Bookmarking video reference. It may find its way in to one of my courses.


Leave a Reply

Categories

